Tony Hillerman…

I’ve already told you about one of my favorite singer/songwriters, Chris De Burgh. I’ve already told you about TV theme music from way back when that I like. Today I’ll tell you about an author I like: Tony Hillerman.

He hasn’t written the great American novel and he hasn’t won any prestigious awards that I’m aware of. But he has written a great series of detective novels that the Mrs. and I both enjoyed.

I do like detective novels. I often read two books at the same time. One that makes me think and reflect and another that is easy to read. I keep the easy to read book with me because I often have time between classes and it’s nice to have a book I can just pick up and jump into. I remember immediately where I stopped and what was happening. Detective novels are good for that.

What makes Tony Hillerman’s books stand out in the crowd, for me at least, is that they are set on a Navajo Indian reservation in New Mexico. There is always a crime that needs to be investigated, which is well-done, but each book is a discovery of the Navajo culture, traditions and history and sometimes that of other Indian tribes of the south-west of the US. He’ll even bring out the historical problems between the different tribes and the stereotypes that they have about each other today.

So his books are more than just a detective story. They are an opening into cultures that we know very little about and I find that as interesting as the detective story.

There are two main characters in his books, Lt. Joe Leaphorn and Sgt. Jim Chee of the Navajo Tribal Police. In some books we encounter only one of these policemen, the other one in other books and in still others they are both present.

Lt. Leaphorn has a structured, analytical mind. He likes using maps and trying to find patterns. He’s not so interested in tribal traditions.

Sgt. Chee, on the other hand, is very attached to the Navajo traditions and is even studying with his uncle to be a medicine man.

So if you like detective stories, read one. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. But do a search on internet and find the first book in the series. We follow the development of the two characters book after book and it’s better to start at the beginning. And even if you don’t like detective stories, read one. You’ll discover the culture of the south-western Indian tribes and that alone is well worth the read.

Je vous ai déjà parlé d’un de mes chanteurs/paroliers préféré, Chris De Burgh. Je vous ai déjà parlé des vieux génériques de séries TV que j’aime. Aujourd’hui je vais vous parler d’un écrivain que j’apprécie.

Il n’a pas écrit Le grand roman américain. Il n’a pas gagné de prix littéraire prestigieux, à ma connaissance. Mais il a écrit une série de roman policier que Mme et moi apprécions beaucoup.

J’aime bien les romans policier. Souvent je lis deux livres en même temps. Un plus sérieux qui demande plus d’analyse et réflexion et un autre qui est facile à lire. Je garde celui qui est facile à lire avec moi tous les jours car j’ai souvent du temps entre deux cours et c’est pratique d’avoir un livre je peux lire tout de suite. Je me rappelle immédiatement où je me suis arrêté et ce qui se passait. Le romans policier sont bien pour ce type de lecture.

Ce qui fait sortir les livres de Tony Hillerman du lot, pour moi au moins, c’est qu’ils ont lieu dans une réserve indienne Navajo au Nouveau Mexique aux US. Il y a toujours un crime à élucider, ce qui est réussi, mais chaque livre est aussi une découverte de la culture, la tradition et l’histoire des Navajos. Et parfois même aussi, une découverte d’autres tribus du sud-ouest. Il explique aussi les tensions historiques entre les tribus de la région, et les préjugés qui subsistent toujours entre elles aujourd’hui.

Ses livres sont donc plus que de simples romans policiers. Ils sont une ouverture sur des cultures que nous ne connaissons pas et je trouve cela aussi intéressant que l’histoire policière.

Il y a deux personnages principaux dans ses livres, Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn et Sergent Jim Chee de la Police Tribale Navajo. Dans certains livres on rencontre seulement soit l’un ou l’autre de ces 2 policiers,  et parfois les deux ensemble dans d’autres livres.

Le Lieutenant Leaphorn a un esprit structuré et analytique. Il aime bien utiliser des plans pour trouver des tendances. Il n’est pas tellement intéressé par les traditions tribales.

Le Sergent Chee, par contre, est très attaché aux traditions tribales et il étudie avec son oncle pour devenir un homme médecine.

Donc, si vous aimez les romans policier, lisez un des livres de Hillerman. Je suis sûr que vous l’apprécierez. Mais faites un peu de recherches et lisez le premier qu’Hillerman a écrit. On suit les personnages à travers les livres et c’est mieux de commencer au début. Et si vous n’aimez pas les romans policier, lisez en un quand même. Vous découvrirez la culture des tribus indiennes du sud-ouest et cela simplement en vaut la lecture.

Leave a Reply

