Bloggers for peace/ Bloggueurs pour la paix

Today the WordPress blogger, who is helping us newbies discover the blogosphere, launched a new challenge. It seems there are a number of blog events and competitions to help us develop our writing skills. So he dared us to find one on the WordPress Blog Event Listing and to do our best. I was scanning through the long list and came across one that caught my eye: Bloggers for peace. We are invited to write one post a month on the subject of peace and that seems doable to me.

Here’s the link to the Bloggers for peace page, in case anyone else is interested:

http://everydaygurus.com/2012/12/20/we-can-make-a-difference-right-here-right-now/

So here is this month’s post about peace.

I’m a strong believer that peace has to begin at the individual level. If I’m not at peace with myself I will probably have conflictual relationships with others. I can always blame it on them, “If he wasn’t such a jerk, we wouldn’t have a problem.” “If she didn’t think she is always right, we’d get along fine.”

Have you ever noticed how if someone you like does or says something, it doesn’t bother you at all. But if someone you don’t like does or says the same thing, it really gets on your nerves?

So who has the problem, the other person or you? Because we’re not at peace with ourselves we let sometimes silly things get on our nerves.

A long time ago, when I was 20, I was living in Long Beach, California and was talking with a young lady from Austria. She wanted to know an American’s view on the world and I was happy to tell her what I thought about how messed up our political system was. This was 1975, after Watergate, the war in Viet Nam was winding down after a disastrous conclusion and I was attracted by the extreme views of the Weather Underground, which preached that the system was too corrupt. We need to tear it down and start over.

This young lady was a good, polite listener and let me go on with my rant about the ‘system.’ When I paused she simply said, “I guess you could say the problem is selfishness.”

I was surprised because I never spoke about selfishness but as I thought about it I realized she was right. Why doesn’t the political system work? Because the leaders, democratic or autocratic, are thinking selfishly. What is good for the country is secondary and what is good for the world is considered of little importance.

Their main concern is: “What actions do I need to take to insure the political and financial support to get re-elected?”, in a democracy, or, “How am I going to keep control of the population?”, in an autocracy.

The old saying is that money is the root of all evil. I beg to differ; selfishness is the root of all evil. There are people who have lots of money and gladly use it for the benefit of others. Or the people with the bumper stickers that say, “Guns don’t kill people, people kill people.” They’re right; the problem is people whose selfishness is so strong that they have no qualms about taking other people’s lives.

Everyone from my generation grew up hearing the Golden Rule: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  We find this idea in most every religion and even non-religious people used to say it. It’s just a fancy way of saying, “Don’t be selfish. Think about others.”

But today, are children being taught this as a general rule of life?

The French have a wonderful term for selfishness, nombrilism, which would be translated as ‘belly-buttonism.’ Selfish people think their belly-button is the center of the world. Someone suffering from belly-buttonism can never bring peace into the world because all he cares about is himself. He doesn’t care about others. All that matters is what ‘I’ think or what ‘I’ want. Such a person cannot contribute to peace.

It’s time to get back to the basics, don’t be selfish, think about others. But the people, who are looked up to and admired in today’s society, are they living for others and thinking of others?

One of the most positive concepts developed in recent years is the idea of ‘pay it forward.’ That’s fantastic! If you see someone in a difficult situation, help him/her out and when he/she wants to thank you and maybe pay you back in some way, simply say, “That’s OK, pay it forward the next time you see someone who needs help.”

A chain of positive actions is put into motion that brings joy to others, renews their faith in humanity and brings a bit of peace into our chaotic, selfish world.

So this week look for an opportunity to help someone out and as you do it think that you’re bringing peace to yourself, to the other person and to the world.

Aujourd’hui le blogueur de WordPress, qui aide les bleus, comme moi, à mieux comprendre la blogosphère, nous a lancé un nouveau défi. Selon lui il y a un nombre d’événements et de compétitions pour nous aider à développer nos qualités d’écrivain. Il nous incite d’aller voir la liste pour les blogueurs de WordPress et de faire partie d’un de ces événements. J’ai regardé la liste, assez longue, et l’un d’entre eux  m’a particulièrement attiré: Blogueurs pour la paix. Nous sommes invités à écrire un commentaire par mois à propos de la paix et ça me semble faisable.

Le lien pour leur site se trouve plus haut. Mais le site n’est qu’en anglais.

Donc, voici mon commentaire pour ce mois-ci  sur la paix.

Je crois fermement que la paix doit commencer au niveau individuel. Si je ne suis pas en paix avec moi-même, il est fort probable que j’aurai des relations conflictuelles avec les autres. Je peux toujours dire que c’est de leurs fautes si nous avons un problème, “S’il n’était pas un abruti, nous n’aurions pas de problèmes.” “Si elle ne pensait pas toujours avoir raison, nous aurions une bonne relation.”

Avez-vous constaté que quelqu’un que vous aimez dit ou fait quelque chose qui ne vous fait rien,  si quelqu’un que vous n’appréciez pas dit ou fait la même chose, c’est tellement énervant!

Le problème est où? En vous ou en l’autre? Par ce que nous ne sommes pas en paix avec nous même, nous laissons des choses assez bête nous énerver.

Il y a longtemps, quand j’avais 20 ans, je vivais à Long Beach, Californie et un jour j’ai rencontré une jeune femme Autrichienne avec qui j’ai discuté. Elle m’a demandé le point de vue d’un américain sur le monde et j’ai été plus qu’ heureux de lui expliquer comment le système politique était si corrompu. C’était en 1975 après Watergate, à la fin de la guerre du Vietnam qui a si mal terminé et j’étais attiré par les idées du Weather Underground, un groupe d’extrême gauche qui prêchait que notre système était trop corrompu. Nous devions faire éclater le système pour tout recommencer.

Cette jeune femme savait écouter patiemment et elle m’a laissé continuer mon discours sur le ‘système.’ Quand j’ai arrêté elle m’a simplement dit , “Je suppose qu’on peut dire que le problème est l’égoïsme.”

J’étais surpris car ne n’avais rien dit sur l’égoïsme, mais en réfléchissant j’ai réalisé qu’elle avait raison. Pourquoi le système politique ne marche pas? Par ce que les responsables, démocratiques ou autocratiques, pensent égoïstement. Ce qui est bien pour le pays est en seconde place sur leurs liste de priorités. Et ce qui est bien pour le monde est de peu d’importance.

Leur souci principal est: “Quelles actions devrais-je faire pour avoir le soutien politique et financier pour être ré-élu?” dans une démocratie, ou “Comment vais-je garder le contrôle sur ma population?” dans une autocratie.

On dit en anglais que l’argent est la racine du mal. Permettez-moi de ne pas être d’accord. L’égoïsme est la racine du mal. Il y a des gens avec beaucoup d’argent qui l’utilisent volontiers pour aider les autres. Et aux USA il y a ceux qui disent, les armes ne tuent pas les gens, c’est les personnes qui tuent les autres. Et ils ont raison. Le problème est que des personnes tellement égoïstes n’ont aucun scrupules d’enlever la vie d’autrui.

Tout le monde de ma génération a grandi en entendant, fais aux autres ce que tu aimerais que les autre fassent pour toi. C’est enseigné par toutes les religions et même par ceux sans religion .

Mais aujourd’hui est-ce qu’on enseigne cette idée aux jeunes?

J’aime beaucoup le terme en français, nombrilisme’ pour parler d’une attitude égoïste. Les égoïste pensent que leur nombril est le centre du monde. Quelqu’un qui souffre du nombrilisme ne peux jamais amener la paix dans le monde car son seul souci est lui-même. Il s’en fiche des autres. Tout qui compte est ce que ‘je’ pense ou ce que ‘je’ veux. Une telle personne est incapable de contribuer à la paix.

Le temps est venu de revenir aux bases, ne soit pas égoïste et pense aux autres. Mais ceux qui sont adulés et  admirés dans la société d’aujourd’hui, est-ce qu’ils vivent pour les autres et est-ce qu’ils pensent aux autres?

Un des concepts de ces dernières années est ‘rends le aux autres’. C’est fantastique! Si vous voyez quelqu’un dans une situation difficile, aidez-le et quand il veut vous remercier et vous repayez d’une façon ou un autre, vous dites simplement, “Ce n’est pas nécessaire, rends-le une prochaine fois à quelqu’un d’autre  qui aura besoin d’aide .”

Une chaine d’actions positives est mise en marche qui amène la joie aux autres, qui renouvelle leur foi en l’humanité et qui amène un peu de paix dans notre monde chaotique et égoïste.

Donc, cette semaine soyez ouvert  à l’opportunité d’aider quelqu’un et quand vous le faites, pensez que vous amenez la paix à vous-même, à l’autre personne et au monde.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: A Tiny Story About Peace | Jake Kuyser

  2. Pingback: Peace Be With You Always as You Wander Your Life’s Path…. | Wandering Voiceless

Leave a Reply

