“Run Faster, jump higher!”/”Courrir plus vite, sauter plus haut!”

On my daily happiness calendar, today’s entry is, “Feel good in a brand new pair of shoes.”

This immediately took me back many years to getting a new pair of PF Flyers. I swear to God, those shoes felt special. I really did feel that I could run faster and jump higher, as their advertising slogan said.

I couldn’t wait to get outside and run and jump. And when I did get my chance I really felt I was running faster and jumping higher. I had a feeling of freedom and liberty, anything was possible!

I remember the same feeling when I learned to swing by myself and started swinging up high, or what seemed high to me at that age. I wondered, if I swing hard enough, can I go up over the bar doing a complete turn without falling out of the swing? Or the feeling when I would swing up and jump out of the swing. I felt like Felix Baumgartner jumping out of his capsule! Of course I was only a few meters high but it felt like an incredibly, daring jump into the unknown!

The joy of being young and carefree and discovering life; No limits, anything is possible!

Later when I was about 8, someone had attached a rope on a tree on the side of a hill. They tied a loop on the end so we could put one foot in the loop and swing out. Again that feeling of freedom and liberty.

It’s too bad we lose that as we get older. We become blasé (I just love it when we use French words in English!). Life loses that magical feeling. “I’ve been there, I’ve done that.” Life becomes boring and predictable. No more surprises, no more feelings of discovering something new.

I think part of the problem is that we get into routines as we grow up. There’s all this stuff we “have to do.” And pretty soon our life becomes one steady routine and we wander through it on automatic pilot. So of course there is no more magic.

In recent years I began feeling that I was stuck in my routine. I decided to challenge myself to get out of my comfort zone. For example, I’ve got a friend who’s an artist and he organizes an evening every year with family and friends which finishes with different people performing. The last two years my son, who plays guitar, and I sang a couple of songs. .

That would have been unthinkable for me before, as I’m more of a quiet, introverted person. I also accepted to help my pastor by being MC for his church services. That was incredibly uncomfortable. But everyone likes my American accent when I speak French so I can’t get out of it now.

I really feel pushed to break out of my routine and experience new things. I don’t get that magical feeling I got from the PF Flyers, but I’m definitely experiencing new things!

Hmmm, maybe I need to do bungee-jumping or parachuting to rediscover that magical feeling…

Sur mon calendrier journalier du bonheur, aujourd’hui j’ai trouvé,  “Se sentir bien dans ses toutes nouvelles chaussures.”

En le lisant ça ma ramené très loin dans le passé quand j’étais jeune et que j’ai eu une paire de PF Flyers chaussures de sport. Je jure que ces chaussures étaient spéciales. Je me sentais vraiment capable de courir plus vite et de sauter plus haut, comme le disait  leurs pubs.

J’étais impatient de sortir pour courir et sauter. Et quand j’en avais la possibilité, j’étais sûr que je courais plus vite et que je sautais plus haut. J’avais un sentiment de liberté, tout était possible!

Ça me rappelle le même sentiment quand j’ai appris à faire de la balançoire tout seul et que je commençais d’aller très haut, ou ce qui me semblais très haut à cet age. Je me demandais, si en montant avec assez d’élan, je pourrais faire un tour complet au dessus de la barre sur laquelle la balançoire était attachée. Ou le sentiment quand je sautais de la balançoire au plus haut. J’étais comme Felix Baumgartner sautant de sa capsule spatiale! Bien sûr, je n’étais qu’ à quelque mètres du sol mais c’était un grand saut dans le vide, dans l’inconnu!

La joie d’être jeune et sans souci et de découvrir la vie. Pas de limites, tout est possible

Quelques années plus tard, il y avait un grand arbre sur le coté d’une colline. On avait attaché une corde, avec une boucle au bout pour mettre son pied, et on se lançait dans le vide. Encore ce sentiment de liberté!

C’est dommage qu’on perde ce sentiment en grandissant. Nous devenons blasé. La vie perds ce sens de magie. “J’y suis déjà allé, je l’ai déjà fait.”La vie devient ennuyante et prévisible.

Et bientôt notre vie devient une routine régulière et on passe en pilote automatique. Donc, bien sûr il n’y a plus de magie.

Les dernières années je me sentais pris par ma routine. J’ai décidé d’en sortir en quittant ma zone confort. Par exemple, j’ai un ami artiste qui organise une soirée une fois par an avec sa famille et des amis qui se termine avec différents personnes qui chantent ou récitent de la poésie ou font un sketch.  Les deux dernières années mon fils, qui joue de la guitare, et moi avons chanté quelques chansons ensemble.

Ça aurait été impensable pour moi avant, je suis plutôt réservé. J’ai aussi accepté d’aider mon pasteur en devenant le MC pour son service du dimanche. J’étais très mal à l’aise. Mais tout le monde aime mon accent américain quand je parle le français donc je ne peux plus faire marche arrière.

Je me pousse pour casser ma routine et expérimenter des choses nouvelles. Je n’ai pas le sentiment magique que  j’ai eu avec mes PF Flyers mais j’ai bien de nouvelles expériences!

Hmm, peut-être devrais-je faire du saut à l’élastique ou du parachutisme pour retrouver la magie de la jeunesse…

Leave a Reply

