Ode to Vivi

For Valentine’s Day the wonderful folks at wordpress suggest: It’s Valentine’s Day, so write an ode to someone or something you love. Bonus points for poetry!

I accept the challenge and this is what I came up with. I’m not satisfied with it, partly because I threw it together today and know I can improve it and partly because it only covers our first 4 years together. I have a lot more to add. But I want to get this published before midnight, as my goal is a post every two days.

Ode to Vivi

We meet in New York, she finds it so dirty.

It is nineteen eighty, December thirty.

She is a foreign visitor fresh from France

That I behold and decide to take a chance.

Her English is enough to communicate

Which is good because in French I can’t relate.

Sylvie, for my ears an unusual name

But with her accent, it is cute just the same.

She has such sparkling green mischievous eyes

Chatty, witty, the year of monkey oblige.

She returns to France too soon, a sad farewell.

We begin writing letters, so much to tell.

Oh, a long distance relationship without

Internet or skype, a time-consuming bout.

Misunderstandings, misinterpretations,

Can’t see her clearly, clouded by my notions.

She travels from afar for Valentine’s Day,

I communicate doubt, she holds on anyway.

She finds the right words to help me understand

I count more for her than France, her native land.

Move to France for a new start, can it be true

That my stuffy, dull life can begin anew?

My life in the US is getting nowhere.

Why not go to France, get some fresh Paris air?

Adjusting to France, is not always easy,

But being with her it is light and breezy.

How lucky I am I come to realize,

She takes me as I am and doesn’t criticize.

Some search a very long time for their true love

Yet we fit so well like fingers in a glove.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

