To ski or not to ski: that is the question/ Skier ou ne pas skier: telle est la question

In my last entry I was speaking about French vacations and how we are now in the season of the winter school vacation during which many people go skiing; an extremely popular winter activity in France.

And the government actively supports the ski industry with its system of three, overlapping vacation zones of two weeks. This ensures the ski resorts of one full month of skiing clients. And the weeks just before and just after are often good weeks for the ski resorts as those with no children, young children or  grown up children often go to avoid large crowds and higher prices.

The problem with skiing is that it is an expensive activity. I did a quick check with google and I see an average price in the Alps for a family with two children of around €1,700 for a week. And this is from an article from 2011 so it should be a bit more now.

The Vosges, the Jura, the Massif Central and the Pyrenees seem to be a bit cheaper by about €200-300. So I always preferred keeping my vacation budget for the summer and not worrying about skiing.

I must admit that I have never had skis on my feet. When I was growing up my family saw skiing as a rich man’s activity. And as I grew up in Tennessee from the age of 10 there was no skiing in the general vicinity.

So when I came to France in 1984 I was surprised at how popular it was. But then France is a smaller country. Most French people can reach a ski resort within four to five hours.

And the schools easily organize one week ‘ski classes’. They take the kids to a ski resort during the off-season for a reduced price. They have classes in the morning and go skiing in the afternoon. This gets kids who live far from the mountains interested in skiing.

Me, I was never attracted to skiing even after coming to France. Not only did the price put me off but every year we see news reports of the traffic jams as everyone rushes into the mountains at the same time to rent their apartment or chalet for a week.

We see the most incredible traffic jams on French roads because everyone rushes off at the same time as the vacation apartments and houses are all rented by week with everyone leaving and arriving on the same day.

When I see those traffic jams, winter and summer, I think of The Police song Synchronicity II, “Packed like lemmings into shiny metal boxes, Contestants in a suicidal race.”

So I never found enough motivation to throw myself in to the traffic jams and excessive costs of the ski slopes.

And the fact that I had four children, which would make for a very expensive vacation, easily discouraged me. When the kids complained that their friends all went skiing, I would say, “When you get a job, you can go skiing all you want.” This answer also works for why don’t we have a dog or a rat or a bigger house or whatever.

So for me, not to ski is the answer to the question in the title and I’m fine with that!

Dans mon dernier article j’ai parlé des vacances françaises et du fait que nous sommes à présent dans les vacances scolaires d’hiver qui attirent beaucoup de personnes  au  ski: une activité très appréciée en France.

Le gouvernement soutient, activement, l’industrie du ski avec son système de trois zones de vacances scolaire qui s’entrecroisent. Ceci assure aux stations de ski un mois entier de clients. Et les semaines juste avant et juste après sont souvent très rentables aussi pour les stations de ski avec l’arrivée des personnes sans enfants, avec des jeunes enfants ou ceux qui n’en ont plus à la maison qui veulent éviter les foules et les prix élevés.

Le problème avec le ski, c’est que c’est une activité plutôt chère. J’ai regardé rapidement sur google et j’ai vu qu’une semaine dans les Alpes pour une famille avec deux enfants c’est en moyenne €1700 par semaine. Et ça d’un article de 2011 donc ça devrait être un peu plus cher maintenant.

Les Vosges, le Jura, le Massif Central et les Pyrénées semble être un peu moins cher d’ environ €200-300. Donc j’ai toujours preferé de garder mon budget de vacances pour l’été et j’ai mis le ski de coté.

Je dois admettre que je n’ai jamais eu des skis aux pieds. Quand j’étais jeune le ski était un sport pour les riches. Et j’ai grandi dans le Tennessee à partir de mes 10 ans et il n’y avait pas de stations de ski près de chez moi.

Donc quand je suis venu en France en 1984 j’ai été surpris de voir à quel point le ski était populaire. Mais la France est un pays plus petit. La plupart des gens peuvent atteindre une station de ski en quatre à cinq heures.

Et aussi, les écoles organisent facilement des classes de neige, amenant les jeunes hors saison à pris réduit. Ce qui rend le ski intéressant même pour les jeunes qui habitent loin des montagnes.

Moi, je n’étais jamais attiré par le ski même après ma venue en France. Il n’y a pas que le prix qui m’a découragé. Il y a aussi les embouteillages de ceux qui veulent tous arriver aux stations de ski en même temps pour louer leur appartement ou chalet pour la semaine.

Quand je vois ces embouteillages, l’hiver et l’été, je pense à la chanson de The Police, Synchronicity II, “Serrés comme des lemmings dans des boites métalliques brillantes, concurrents d’une course suicidaire.”

Ainsi je n’ai jamais trouvé la motivation pour me lancer dans les embouteillages et les dépenses excessives du ski.

Et le fait que j’ai eu quatre enfants, ce qui ferait des vacances très chères, m’a beaucoup découragé. Quand les enfants se plaignaient que leurs amis allaient tous faire du ski, je disais, “Quand tu auras fini tes études et que tu travailleras, tu pourras faire autant de ski que tu veux.” Cette réponse marche aussi pour les chiens, les rats, une plus grande maison, etc.

Donc pour moi ne pas skier est ma réponse à la question posée dans le titre!

Leave a Reply

