Too much on my plate…/Trop sur mon assiette…

icannotdoitall

April was a challenging month for my blog. My goal of a post every two days was sorely challenged and I often didn’t make it. It’s not that I’m losing interest or I’m frustrated because so few people seem to read and follow it (but it would feel good to see that number going up), it’s just that life sometimes puts too much on my plate and there’s nothing to do but prioritize.

I basically have two choices. Choice number one: I can say I’m going to post every two days come hell or high water! In which case I would probably churn out some very poor posts and I would be ignoring other things that really need to get done. Or, choice number two: I can say I have to keep my priorities straight and since my blog has not become a big deal that is influencing people or making money, it’s better to take care of all of those other things that have importance in the real world.

And even as the month of May begins I’m falling behind schedule. This past weekend I was visiting friends in Brittany that I don’t see very often and we had a great weekend together. Imagine their reaction if I would have said, ‘Sorry guys, I’ve got to take time write my blog so you won’t be seeing me for a couple of hours. And when I finish, the Mrs. will then disappear to make my French passable.’

Hmmm, maybe I wouldn’t get another invitation…

So I continue to keep my goal of posting every two days. But if I can’t meet that goal I’m not going to fall into a depression and feel like my life is a failure.

To paraphrase Jesus, ‘The blog was made for man, and not man for the blog!’

Mug-300x300

Le mois d’avril a été un défi pour mon blog. Mon but d’ajouter un nouveau sujet tous les deux jours  a été cruellement contesté et souvent je ne suis pas arrivé à l’accomplir.  Ce n’est pas que je perds mon intérêt pour ce blog ou que je suis frustré parce qu’il semble que si peu de personnes le lisent ou le suivent (mais ça me ferait du bien de voir ce nombre augmenter), c’est simplement que par moment la vie met trop sur mon assiette et je dois faire des priorités.

En gros j’ai deux choix. Choix numéro un: Je peux dire que je vais ajouter un sujet tous les deux jours quoi qu’il arrive! Dans ce cas je pourrais  produire à tour de bras des sujets médiocre et je repousserais d’autres responsabilités qui devaient être traitées. Ou, choix numéro deux: il faut que je fixe des priorités claires et vu que mon blog n’influence pas grand monde ou qu’ il n’est pas une source de revenus, il est mieux de m’occuper de toutes ces autres chose qui ont une importance dans le vrai monde.

Et même au début de ce mois de mai, je suis très en retard. Le weekend dernier j’ai rendu visite à des amis en Bretagne que ne vois pas souvent et nous avons passé de bons moments ensemble. Imaginez l’effet si j’avais dit, “Désolé tout le monde, il faut que j’écrive mon blog donc je vais disparaitre pendant quelques heures. Et quand je termine c’est Mme qui va disparaitre pour rendre mon français compréhensible”.

Hmmm, peut-être que  je n’aurai plus d’invitation…

Donc je garde mon but d’ajouter un nouveau sujet tous les deux jours. Et si n’arrive pas à l’accomplir je ne plongerai pas dans une dépression avec le sentiment que ma vie est un échec.

Pour paraphraser les paroles de Jésus, ‘Le blog a été fait pour l’homme, non pas l’homme pour le blog’.

Leave a Reply

