The smell of freshly cut grass…

grass-smell

The weather we’ve been having for the past few weeks (grey, wet and cool) reminds me more of October than August. So when I got in the car and started driving to my English class this morning I wasn’t feeling particularly inspired. I felt OK but not more than that.

As I was driving through Dourdan I saw a tractor in the distance cutting grass along the side of the road. I didn’t give it much thought and drove by it. Then I was hit by the smell of freshly cut grass and immediately felt good.

I don’t know why that smell has such an effect on me but it really lifts me up. It’s as if that smell takes me back to my young, carefree days when life was simple. And when that smell hits me, as it did this morning, everything seems to change. Suddenly the weather didn’t seem so disappointing and I was happy.

I have nothing earth-shakingly important to share today. Just that freshly cut grass is one of God’s gifts to mankind. Well, it is at least for me.

PS: I decided to google ‘freshly cut grass smell’ and found this link to an article that explains it scientifically, for those interested.

freshlycutgrass

L’odeur de l’herbe fraichement coupée.

Le temps que nous avons eu depuis quelques semaines, gris, pluvieux et frais, me rappelle plus octobre que août. Donc quand je me suis mis au volant de la voiture et je suis parti pour mon cours d’anglais ce matin, je ne me sentais pas particulièrement inspiré. Je me suis senti assez bien mais rien de plus que cela.

Puis en traversant Dourdan j’ai vu un tracteur au loin qui tondait la pelouse sur le bord de la route. Ce n’était pas quelque chose d’exceptionnel et je suis passé à côté du tracteur. Puis l’odeur de l’herbe fraichement coupée m’a frappé et immédiatement, je me suis senti bien.

Je n’ai aucune idée pourquoi cette odeur a un tel effet sur moi mais ça me remonte le moral. C’est comme si cette odeur me ramène au temps quand j’étais jeune et sans souci et la vie était simple. Et quand cette odeur me frappe, comme ça l’a fait aujourd’hui, tout semble changer. Subitement le temps n’était pas aussi décevant et j’étais heureux.

Je n’ai rien d’une grand importance à partager aujourd’hui. Seulement que l’herbe fraichement coupée et un des cadeaux de Dieu à l’humanité. Eh bien, au moins elle l’est pour moi.

 

Leave a Reply

