writing 101

The WordPress people have offered a 20-day challenge to help wanna-be writers, such as myself, to improve their skills. For day one they said:

“To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.”

 

I’m really tired this evening. It’s 7:39 pm and I haven’t been home long. I had a three-hour English class at the university, first one of the semester for this group, and I had 21 students. Twenty-one students for a language class is way too many. But it’s just as tiring when it’s a smaller group because I have to give a lot. As I’m walking to the class room I often think, “It’s Showtime!” I know that the only way to get them interested and get them involved is to give a lot. The more I give, the more they respond. But at the end of the class I feel empty.

But it’s nice to be back home, to sit down at the computer, check my mail, look at what’s happening on Facebook, I was hoping for more photos of my grandson’s 2nd birthday last Saturday, but they aren’t any 😦  then I check my blog to see how many visits…only two during the day 😦

Someone put up a link on Facebook about Leonard Cohen’s new album. NPR has free streaming of his new album and it’s good listening when one is a bit tired. I feel like I can just slide into his music and let his gravelly voice carry me away. Listening to his songs is giving me the boost I need. “Did I Ever Love You” is my favorite on first listening from a strictly musical point of view. I’m too tired to really listen to the lyrics.

This exercise is really tough today. It’s as if my brain is stuck in 2nd gear and I can’t manage to get it up to speed. I just want to move to Leonard’s song, “My Oh My.” Oh well, maybe I’ll be in better shape tomorrow…

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

