If life gives you lemons…make lemondade. (Part 2)

 manon_545x460_autocrop

(Descendez pour la traduction en Francais.) As I was putting the finishing touches to my previous post, ‘If life gives you lemons…make lemonade. (Part 1),’ I saw a news report on the French TV channel, France 2, which was another wonderful example of this positive attitude. It was a report about a young lady, Manon Slomkowski, 21 years old, who had a serious motorcycle accident one year ago which resulted in her left arm being totally paralyzed. The news report followed her during a visit to a high school where she warns students about the dangers of motorcycles and the need for being cautious when using one. Here is a link to the news report, but it is in French and there are no subtitles. The point of her presentation that touches the students the most is a video she made which shows how she manages to do with only one arm, what are for us simple things, such as getting dressed, putting fingernail polish on and arranging her hair. She is such a powerful example of someone who suddenly found herself in a difficult, hard-to-accept, situation and responded in a positive, ‘I can handle this’ way. Here is a translation of the text she put under her video: “The 21st of March 2014 at the age of 20 I was the victim of a serious motorcycle accident, since then I have had a complete paralysis of the brachial plexus. Five nerves control an arm. Four of mine were torn from my spinal cord, leaving them beyond repair. I have already undergone two operations, one being nerve graft. My chances of one day recovering a simple bending/extension of my arm are weak. I have permanently lost the use of hand. I live with daily neuropathic pain (difficult to live with) which amputees also live with. My suffering is not only physical but mental and emotional, my body is quite damaged and I become tired faster than normal. I will surely not live as long as an able-bodied person. I have been deprived of my passion but also of activities, my family worries about me and my future. My force and my will are visible; I live well because I accept my situation. In this video you will see a small part of what I have had to relearn. We are not untouchable on the road, those 30 second when I believed that have left me injured for the rest of my life. You don’t want that, drive slowly and cautiously.” Here is her video, which is set to music so anyone can watch and understand.

 

La vie n’est pas juste, acceptez la et avancez. (Part 1)

Quand je faisais les finitions de mon post précédent, ‘La vie n’est pas juste, acceptez la et avancez. (Part 1)’, j’ai vu un reportage sur France 2 qui est un autre exemple de cette attitude positive. Le reportage parlait de Manon Slomkowski, 21 ans, qui a eu un grave accident de moto il y a un an avec pour résultat une paralysie de son bras gauche. Le reportage la suit pendant une visite dans un lycée où elle avertit les élèves sur les risques en moto et le besoin d’être prudent en l’utilisant. Voici le lien pour voir le reportage. Le moment de sa présentation qui touche le plus les élèves est la vidéo (que vous pouvez voir ci-dessus)  qui montre comment elle arrive à faire des choses, qui sont simples pour nous, avec seulement un bras, tel que s’habiller, mettre du vernis à ongles ou s’attacher les cheveux. Elle est un exemple fort de quelqu’un qui s’est subitement trouvé dans une situation éprouvante et difficile à vivre et qui a répondu d’une façon positive  ‘je peux y arriver’. Voici le texte elle a mis sous sa vidéo: “Le 21 mars 2014 à l’âge de 20 ans j’ai été victime d’un grave accident de la route en moto, depuis j’ai une paralysie complète du plexus brachial, dite “la maladie du motard”. 5 nerfs contrôle un bras, 4 sont arrachés de ma moelle, donc irrécupérables, j’ai déjà subit 2 opérations dont une greffe de nerf. Mes chances de retrouver un jour une simple flexion/extension du bras sont  faibles. J’ai perdu à jamais l’usage du reste, dont la main. Je vis au quotidien avec des douleurs neuropathologiques (difficilement supportable) dont souffrent également les personnes amputées. Ma souffrance est physique mais aussi morale, mon corps est lourdement abîmé et fatigue plus vite que la normale. Je ne vivrai sûrement pas aussi longtemps qu’une personne valide. Je suis privée de ma passion mais aussi de beaucoup d’activités, ma famille s’inquiète pour moi et pour mon avenir. Ma force et ma volonté sont visibles, je le vis bien parce que je l’accepte. Voilà une infime partie de ce que j’ai du réapprendre à faire. Nous ne sommes pas intouchables sur la route, ces 30 secondes où je l’ai cru, m’ont blessé pour toujours. Vous ne voulez pas ça, conduisez doucement et prudemment.”

Leave a Reply

