The Mona Lisa

2a2cc39e6a846d8dfa14623fac1f9611b3491c2e_457x600_Q75

(Descendez pour la traduction en Français.)

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, as we say. Of course everyone has their view of what is good art and what is bad art yet there are certain works of art that society tells us we should appreciate. The Mona Lisa is one of those. Everyone grows up seeing and hearing about the Mona Lisa and her enigmatic smile, THE masterpiece by Leonardo da Vinci.

So when I moved to France in 1984 one of the things on my to-do list was to go to the Louvre and see the Mona Lisa.  Off I went to the Louvre and began wandering through it. It is so big, I already felt like I had walked half way across Paris when I finally made it to the Mona Lisa. There was a huge crowd of people and I couldn’t even see the Mona Lisa. This surprised me because on other walls there were some really big paintings hanging up quite high. I wondered why the Mona Lisa was so low that I couldn’t see it over people’s heads.

I hate fighting crowds in public places but I knew I would never see the Mona Lisa if I didn’t start pushing my way up to the front. So into the fray I went! I was moving closer and closer to the front of the crowd and my expectations were building up. I finally broke into the front row and…my mouth dropped open. All that fuss about this?! It was such a small painting! I’m not exaggerating. The painting is 30.3 inches by 20.8 inches. Mona Lisa is not even good looking and that enigmatic smile looks more like an enigmatic smirk as if she and Leonardo were thinking, “Ha, made you look!”

But I’m grateful to the Mona Lisa because I realized something important. When it comes to art, don’t worry about what experts and critics and opinionated people say. Go see for yourself. And if you don’t like the masterpiece that everyone adores, shake the dust off your feet, keep looking at what else there is to see and find something that speaks to you. Then sit down, or remain standing if you can’t sit, and appreciate it.

Come to think of it, this lesson also applies to life. Don’t worry about what experts and critics and opinionated people say. Go live it for yourself. And if you don’t like what everyone else adores, shake the dust off your feet, keep looking at what else there is to see and do and find something that speaks to you. Then sit down, or remain standing if you can’t sit, and appreciate it.

monalisa-cartoon

La JOCONDE

La beauté se trouve dans les yeux de celui qui regarde, comme on dit. Bien sur tout le monde à son opinion de ce qui est bon et ce qui est mauvais mais il y a certain chef d’œuvres que la société nous dit d’ apprécier. La Joconde en est un. Nous grandissons tous avec l’image de la Joconde et son sourire énigmatique, LE chef d’oeuvre de Léonard de Vinci.

Ainsi quand je suis arrivé en France en 1984 un des points sur ma liste de choses à faire était d’aller au Louvre et de voir la Joconde. Et c’est ce que j’ai fais. J’ai commencé à marcher dans le Louvre et c’est si grand que j’avais le sentiment d’avoir traversé une moitié de Paris quand je suis finalement arrivé dans la salle de la Joconde. On aurait dit le métro à l’heure de pointe, je ne pouvais même pas la voir. J’étais surpris car sur d’autres murs il y avait de très grands tableaux accroché assez haut. Je me demandais pourquoi la Joconde était si bas que je ne pouvais la voir au-dessus de la tête des visiteurs.

Je n’aime pas lutter contre la foule dans les endroits publics mais je savais que je ne verrais jamais la Joconde si je ne forçais pas un chemin à travers la foule. Donc je me suis lancé ! J’avançais plus près de la première rangée et mes espoirs étaient de plus en plus forts. Finalement je me suis retrouvé devant la Joconde et…je l’ai regardé bouche bée. Que d’histoires pour rien! c’ est un tableau si petit! Je n’exagère pas, il fait 77 cm x 53 cm. La Joconde n’est même pas belle et ce sourire énigmatique est plutôt un petit sourire satisfait comme si elle et Leonard se disaient, “Ha, nous t’avons bien eu!”

Mais  je suis remerciant envers la Joconde car j’ai réalisé quelque chose d’important. Au sujet de l’art, ne vous faites pas de soucis sur ce que les experts, les critiques et les gens avec des idées très arrêtées disent. Allez regarder et décidez par vous-même.  Et si vous n’appréciez pas le chef d’œuvres que tout le monde adore, secouez la poussière de vos pieds, continuez à regarder d’autres choses et trouvez quelque chose qui vous parle. Puis asseyez-vous, ou rester debout si vous ne pouvez pas vous asseoir, et appréciez.

En réfléchissant, cette leçon s’applique aussi à la vie. Ne vous faites pas de soucis sur ce que les experts, les critiques et les gens avec des idées  très arrêtées disent. Allez vivre par vous-même. Et si vous n’appréciez pas ce que tous les autres adorent, secouez la poussière de vos pieds, continuez à voir ou à faire d’autres choses et trouvez quelque chose qui vous parle. Puis asseyez-vous, ou rester debout si vous ne pouvez pas vous asseoir, et appréciez.

1 Comment

  1. We have fought the crowds to see it too – really quite underwhelming in so many ways. My reflections on a couple of visits is that by wandering through the halls you are rewarded by so many wonderful masterpieces.

Leave a Reply

